Major Changes to the SCHADS Award expected July 2022

The Fair Work Commission has announced changes to the Social, Community, Home Care and Disability Services Industry Award 2020 following the completion of its 4-yearly review

The SCHADS Awards covers many employers in the social and community services sector. This includes many charities, not-for-profits and NDIS providers. It is one of the most complex modern awards and runs to over 100 pages.

There are a number of key changes that will be effective from 1 July 2022 or the first pay period after that, including:

  • minimum payments for part time employees
  • workers to be paid for broken shifts
  • worker reimbursement for client cancellation
  • working outside of hours
  • on-call/remote response allowances

For more information click here.

To read the determination in full, click here.